FALL OF THE EMPIRE

Let’s assume I were the city of Rome.
Imperial. Mighty.
Stable. Prospering.
Eternal.

But wars and conflicts
are destabilizing my strongholds.
The Black Death is unfurling,
annihilating everything in its wake.
The ramparts are ablaze,
crumbling to the earth
in slow motion.

My defenses are inadequate.
And there’s barely any help.
The Dark Age is creeping up.

You may not see it from afar but I am decaying from within.
Yielding to the pressure of my own weight.

I wish I could tell you otherwise,
But

The empire is falling.

2 thoughts on “FALL OF THE EMPIRE

Leave a Reply

